2 Mar

City Of The Sun Announces Extended Residency At Blue Note Jazz Club

first_imgBlue Note Jazz Club and City Of The Sun have just announced an upcoming prolific late night residency, spanning from October 2016 through January 2017, at the Blue Note Jazz Club on weekend nights at 12:30AM. Following a recent sold out headlining performance at Irving Plaza on Fri, Oct 14, City Of The Sun is gearing up for four Blue Note late night shows, promising to deliver surprise special guests and new original music.City of the Sun is an instrumental post-rock trio based in Brooklyn, NY. Formed in 2011, COS features guitarists John Pita, Avi Snow, and percussionist Zach Para. They gained their initial popularity in NYC playing the streets and subways, then graduated to selling out major New York venues. Performing at Ted talk conferences and Sofar Sounds secret shows helped to bring their worldly, “genre-bending” sound to more ears––cross-country and world-wide. Their live LP, “to the sun and all the cities in between” was released in March 2016, landing at #12 on the Billboard Jazz Albums chart.To get you in the mood for the upcoming residency, City Of The Sun has shared a teaser video for their brand new song “Sugar.” Check out the exciting new video below, exclusively via L4LM.The residency will include four dates in total: October 28th, November 11th, November 26th, and January 6th. Tickets for each show can be found by clicking the corresponding date. You can also find out more information about the band and shows by heading to the band’s website.We can’t wait for this exciting residency! Check out the full run artwork below.[Cover photo by Drex Drechsel]last_img read more

Read More
8 Sep

Peter Rufai Heads ASFU Organising Committee

first_imgAs the much anticipated preliminary round of matches of the maiden African Students Football Union (ASFU) Championship kick off in Ijebu Ode and Ibadan from tomorrow, former Super Eagles captain and goalkeeper, Peter Rufai Has been nominated as the chairman of Main Organising Committee.According to the President of ASFU, Professor Seun Omotayo, other notable former internationals involved in the project as ambassadors include; Julius Aghahowa and Seyi Olofinjana are ambassadors. The programme is expected to attract students from other countries especially along the west coast of Africa.Professor Omotayo disclosed that the duo of Aghahowa and Olofinjana had donated trophies for the highest goal scorer and that if he overall winner of the tournament. Peter Rufai Omotayo said the championship, which is an invitational one, would be used as a qualifier for the World Students Football League which will come up later this year.According to the organisers, Group A, has teams from Tai Solarin University of Education, Edo State University, Kenyatta University, Lagos State University and the University of Lagos. They will play their matches at the Dipo Dina International Stadium, Ijebu Ode.In Group B which will be based at the Adamasingba Stadium, Ibadan teams from University of Ibadan, Ahmadu Bello University, Ayo Babalola University, University of Tamale from Ghana and a university from Zimbabwe.Semifinals and the final matches would be held on 26 and 27 January at the Agege Stadium respectively.The participating institutions are; Lagos State University, University of Ibadan, University of Lagos, University of Development Studies, Tamale, Ghana, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kenyatta University, Kenya, Joseph Ayo Babalola University, University of Zimbabwe, Bulawayo and Edo State University.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img read more

Read More