4 Jun

All roads lead to City for newly merged local authority in…

first_imgPedestrian crossing falls ‘out of the sky’ in Pallaskenry Email Ballyneety Community Development Association (BCDA) ‘Sod turning’ held on June 12 TAGSAdare-Rathkeale municipal districtCllr Ciara McMahonCllr Kevin SheahanCllr Richard O’DonoghueCllr Stephen KearyCllr Tom NevillelimerickLimerick City and County Council Facebook NewsPoliticsAll roads lead to City for newly merged local authority in LimerickBy Alan Jacques – June 12, 2014 797 RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR Linkedin Advertisement Previous articleRed Ribbon offers free HIV rapid tests in LimerickNext articleLimerick clamper wants no bonus from Special Olympics Alan Jacqueshttp://www.limerickpost.ie center_img Council row over funding for Ballingarry and Askeaton Rathkeale fundraiser for vital Cancer services Twitter Print WhatsApp Cllr Stephen KearyCOUNCILLORS in the new municipal district of Adare-Rathkeale have proposed that the newly merged Limerick City and County Council reconsider moving its planning, environment and roads departments back to the County Hall in Dooradoyle.Speaking at the first Adare-Rathkeale area meeting this Tuesday, Cllr Stephen Keary (FG) expressed disappointment over the recent “carving up” of the three related services, with the relocation of the planning department to new city offices on Patrick Street.Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter Sign Up Cllr Keary called on the Council to reconsider reversing its decision and move all the departments back to County Hall to facilitate people from County Limerick with planning issues.“There was a triangle that worked well between these three departments in Dooradoyle. Planning, roads and environment go hand in hand and now it’s been made more difficult for people from the County by carving them up,” said Cllr Keary.“It’s disgraceful that there isn’t even a public toilet for customers at the new Council office in Patrick Street. Ye talk about putting people first, but ye are putting them last,” he said.The Fine Gael councillor also stated that he had “major difficulty” that promises made by the Council executive 18 months ago, before the merger, to bring all services under the one roof in Rathkeale, had not been honoured.“We were told it would be like a mini County Hall, but the office hasn’t changed,” said Cllr Keary.Cllr Richard O’Donoghue (FF) seconded Cllr Keary’s motion to have the three planning departments reinstated in County Hall. The first-time councillor reminded the Council executive that it was tasked with serving the people of County Limerick and not just the city.“The County has looked after the City long enough. You’ve made it harder now for people in the country to get to ye. The system that was in place in Dooradoyle was perfect and its time to put it back the way it was,” he said.Cllr Ciara McMahon (SF) agreed that all the local authority offices were based in the City and did not serve those living in rural areas.“A return journey from Ballyhahill into the city is 74 miles. What happens if I don’t drive and need to conduct business with the planning department?” she asked.Council director of finance and director of the new municipal district of Adare-Rathkeale, Tom Gilligan told councillors that he was “disappointed” to hear their comments. He said that the newly merged local authority was at the “birth stage” and insisted that “putting people first” was at its core.Cathaoirleach of Limerick City and County Council, Cllr Kevin Sheahan (FF), told council members that there was nothing said at the historic first meeting that he didn’t disagree with. He also predicted that teething problems within the newly merged local authority would “come right eventually”.Newly elected Cathaoirleach of the Adare-Rathkeale municipal district, Cllr Tom Neville (FG), said it was vitally important that all services were retained in the area. Calls to clean the River Deel in Rathkeale Proposal for Adare affordable housing pilot projectlast_img read more

Read More
23 Sep

O’Neil bests Thornton in Cocopah classic as Morris tops Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods

first_imgO’Neil made a bold three-wide pass on the high side to drive from fourth to second in the first set of corners, then powered around the outside of Kollin Hibdon to lead lap one. Thornton, Hibdon, R.C. Whitwell and Tom Berry Jr. rounded out the top five.  Tim Gonska led the final 16 circuits of the Hobby Stock feature to win by 1.5 seconds over Scott Tenney.  Canadian driver Brendon LaBatte came from seventh to claim the Stock Car victory in dramatic fashion. LaBatte was in third as he crossed under the white flag but passed Gene Henrie for second going down the backstretch before powering around Steffan Carey to win the feature in a drag race to the checkers.  Ricky Thornton Jr. moved his way up to the second spot from the fifth starting position by lap four and quickly set his sights on O’Neil. Thornton searched every inch of the oval be­fore taking command of the lead on lap 15.  “I thought once he got by me it was over. Usually when that guy gets to the lead there is no catching him,” O’Neil said. “I just threw a Hail Mary at it and started running the heck out of the car and it ended up working out.” Feature Results  Northern SportMods – 1. Miles Morris; 2. Cody Thompson; 3. Chris Toth; 4. Wayne Dot­son; 5. Ron Schreiner; 6. Jimmy Davy; 7. Taylor Kuehl; 8. Shelby Frye; 9. Manny Baldiviez; 10. Brian Carey; 11. Kyle Salo; 12. Mike Wells; 13. Bill Lundock; 14. David Pitt; 15. Jackie Frye; 16. Chase Alves; 17. Slade Pitt; 18. Camron Spangler; 19. Ty Rog­ers; 20. Javier Navarro; 21. Justin Brierley. Before the feature, the field gave the traditional four-wide salute to the fans, but left the pole position open in memory of Jamestown, N.D. driver, Don Gumke, who passed away ear­lier in the week. Gumke competed at Cocopah the prior weekend.  Stock Cars – 1. Brendon LaBatte; 2. Steffan Carey; 3. Gene Henrie; 4. Loren DeAr­mond; 5. Troy Jerovetz; 6. Cody Center; 7. Aaron Spangler; 8. Nuggett Shupe; 9. Jody York; 10. Tony Hill; 11. Jake Smith; 12. Tyler Vache; 13. Raymond Doyle; 14. Wayne Dotson; 15. Leslie Gill; 16. Chanse Hollatz; Austin Daffern; 18. Andy Altenburg.  Hobby Stocks – 1. Tim Gonska; 2. Scott Tenney; 3. Joshua Cordova; 4. Brad King; 5. Jason Beshears; 6. Andy Pearce; 7. Oscar Duarte; 8. Jason Penny; 9. Francisco Cor­dova; 10. Jeffrey Callis; 11. Jim Robinson; 12. Jason Duggins.  O’Neil quickly mounted another charge as the lead duo sliced their way through slower traffic. O’Neil finally cleared Thornton Jr. to take the point with four laps to go and held on for the victory. Repeat winners were seen in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks. Jake O’Neil won his second straight IMCA Modified feature in the Jan. 16 Winter Nationals show at Cocopah Speedway. (Photo by Bobby McMorris) SOMERTON, Ariz. (Jan. 16) – Some of the best racing seen to date at Winter Nationals was displayed Thursday evening, and Jake O’Neil ended the night at Cocopah Speed­way with a second straight $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win. Modifieds – 1. Jake O’Neil; 2. Ricky Thornton Jr.; 3. Kollin Hibdon; 4. R.C. Whitwell; 5. Tom Berry Jr.; 6. Alex Stanford; 7. Randy Havlik; 8. Chaz Baca; 9. Tim Ward; 10. Darrell Hughes II; 11. Marlyn Seidler; 12. Spencer Wilson; 13. Casey Arneson; 14. Austin Ku­ehl; 15. Austin Kiefer; 16. Jerry Flippo; 17. Jeff Taylor; 18. Russell Allen; 19. Travis Mos­ley; 20. Zane DeVilbiss; 21. Braxton Yeager; 22. Bill Miller; 23. Jason Noll; 24. Justen Yeager; 25. Joey Price. Defending track champion Miles Morris raced to the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod victory. Morris held off 12th place starter Cody Thompson.  Miles Morris made his way to victory lane following the Jan. 16 Winter Nationals Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main event. (Photo by Bobby McMorris)  By Mike Spiekerlast_img read more

Read More