3 Dec

Congress names seven more candidates

first_imgThe All India Congress Committee late on Tuesday night released its sixth list naming candidates for seven seats from Maharashtra, including one in Mumbai. Former MP and senior Congress leader Eknath Gaikwad will be the party’s candidate from Mumbai South Central. Sitting MLAs K.C. Padvi and Kunal Patil have been fielded from Nandurbar (ST) and Dhule respectively. Former State unit president Manikrao Thakare is the candidate from Yavatmal-Washim, while Charulata Tokas and Bhausaheb Kamble will contest from Wardha and Shirdi (SC). Navinchandra Bandivadekar will contest the Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg seat in Konkan. Mr. Gaikwad faces sitting Shiv Sena MP Rahul Shewale. Mr. Padvi is one of the senior-most tribal MLAs in Nandurbar, a traditional stronghold of Congress. Mr. Padvi had recently resigned from Assembly as a mark of protest over the State government’s move to extend tribal benefits to the Dhangar community. In Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, rumours were afloat that party would exchange the seat with NCP which could extend support to Nilesh Rane of Maharashtra Swabhiman Party.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *